Archbishop Unsure If Child Rape is a Crime

OH MY FUCKING GOD!!!

Q. Archbishop, you knew it was a crime for an adult to engage in sex with a kid [in the 1970s]?
A. I’m not sure whether I knew it was a crime or not. I understand today it’s a crime.
Q. When did you first discern that it was a crime for an adult to engage in sex with a kid?
A. I don’t remember.
Q. When did you first discern that it was a crime for a priest to engage in sex with a kid who he had under his control?
A. I don’t remember that either.
Q. Do you have any doubt in your mind that you knew that in the ’70s?
A. I don’t remember if I did or didn’t.

More here: http://www.patheos.com/blogs/friendlyatheist/2014/06/10/catholic-archbishop-tells-lawyer-he-wasnt-sure-whether-raping-a-child-was-a-crime-back-in-the-1970s/

Leave a Reply

